Thread: some questions from a beginner :)

some questions from a beginner :)

hello

i am new at bonsai art

i read alot of articls about the art of bonsai and how to make a bonsai tree

but i still have some questions

how the tree still small is that by cutting the roots and the main root for the tree ?

what is the roots that need to be cut after move it to the bonsai pots ?

thx alot

Fady

Hi Fady and welcome to the forums!

It is a very broad question concerning the roots of a tree. You must be more specific as to what type of tree, how old it is, and very important where you and tree are. We are glad to help, but we need to know more.
    Sincerly, Rick

hello sir

the type of the tree is Redleaf Maple and i will start it from zero from seeds

i know it will take long time to grow and to be able to make it a bonsai tree

but i want to start my future bonsai tree from zero to the birth

i am from Egypt where the weather is normally at winter from 9c to 25 c and in summer from 25c to 40c degree

so what is your opinion sir

thx alot
    Last edited by iamurthman; 02-11-2013 at 08:09 PM.
    love every thing green

Hi Fady,

Well, we've narrowed it down to a Redleaf Maple, started from seed, in Egypt. Man, I just don't picture maples when I think of Egypt! Do they grow there? I mean, do you see maples around town in the landscaping? Do they sell maples there for planting in yard or garden?

The temps you give seem to support maples, although the winter temps are a bit warm by a few degrees, they prefer 45F or less for about six weeks. They are quite hardy on that end and in many regions remain frozen all winter. Maples leaf is very sensitive to excessive heat and direct sun in the summer. You're really pushing the limits of this tree.